top of page
Search
  • emma4415

Reading Blog #3

At first glance, net art seems extremely familiar to me -at least the style of it reminds me of a younger age, when I was first being introduced to the internet - from the icons to coded art, etc. I really enjoy the seemingly nostalgic feel of the style. Upon researching more on net.art, I can say that the overarching idea is one that I'm having a little bit of trouble grasping - but an aspect of it that I find to be particularly interesting is the idea of the "cybermanifesto". One in particular is VNS's "Cyberfeminist Manifesto", surrounded in positive anitreason and holy madness - an unapologetic insight into this "digi-zine"-like format. The ideas and methods utilized by. alot of these net.artists is something that I really take a liking to, very counterculture ways to have their work seen - one example that sticks out to me comes in the form of pure trickery. Publishing raunchy or prankish art sites under the names of renown critics like Timothy Druckrey and Peter Weibel.






3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page